News / 29 August


We can finally announce the jury for the New Music Award! Patrice, Joe Garvey (Jewel Management), Andy Barsekow (PULS), Andy Löffler (1LIVE) and Steffi Schäfer (DASDING) have some of the best ears and are experts in the music industry and they will be helping to decide who comes out top in the final.

Young ARD radio stations throughout Germany have been on the lookout over the past weeks for the best new acts and the most promising new talents. The following acts will be on stage at the final on 8 September 2013 in Berlin’s Admiralspalast, to be presented once again by the stunning Hadnet Tesfai:

Exclusive from Munich (PULS // BR)

Aelement from Bremen (Bremen Vier // Radio Bremen)

Weekend from Gelsenkirchen (1LIVE // WDR)

Clarence & Napoleon from Hamburg (N-JOY // NDR)        

Ahzumjot from Berlin (Fritz // rbb)

Bengio from Fulda (YOU FM // hr)

Mikrokosmos23 from Meissen (MDR Sputnik)

marie & the redCat from Mannheim (103.7 UnserDing // SR)

Filius Nox from Bad Bergzabern (DASDING // SWR)

The nine newcomers can not only look forward to one of the capital city’s best stages, but also the world’s best audience, made up of people from all over Germany who have travelled from their hometowns to loudly cheer on their favourites. The winning act, to be chosen by a jury of representatives from the radio stations involved and music industry experts will not only be winning fame and glory, but a gift token for musical equipment to the value of 10,000 euros on top of that!

Successful performance at the final could mean a huge opportunity for the future
The New Music Award is one of the most important prizes for young musicians and bands in Germany and a joint production of all young radio stations that are part of ARD Radio: Bremen Vier (Radio Bremen), DASDING (SWR), 1LIVE (WDR), Fritz (rbb), MDR SPUTNIK, N-JOY (NDR), PULS (BR), 103.7 UnserDing (SR) as well as YOU FM (hr). The winners of the New Music Award in the past years were Bonaparte from Berlin, Kraftklub from Chemnitz, Tonbandgerät from Hamburg, Captain Capa from Bad Frankenhausen and OK Kid (formerly Jona:S) from Giessen.

A springboard into the music world
The nine young stations of ARD have been supporting the development of new music culture in Germany for years. They discover up-and-coming artists and offer them a springboard into the music world as well as the necessary publicity. At the New Music Award all of the regional radio stations belonging to ARD will be showing their competence and experience in promoting newcomers throughout Germany. At the same time, the New Music Award has established itself as an exclusive closing event at the Berlin Music Week!

Sponsored by the Initiative Musik gemeinnützige Projektgesellschaft mbH using project funds from the Federal Government Representative for Culture and Media on the basis of a resolution by the German Bundestag.


More News